Cardinal Players and Coach Earn Awards

by Tom Sobiasi

Cardinal Captain Matt Klein was named 1st-Team all WCLL Midfielder and 2nd-Team All America for his outstanding play at midfield throughout the 2019 season.  Klein finished the year with 26 Goals, 10 Assists, and 43 ground balls.

Sophomores Brian Hanley and John Whiting were named second-team all-WCLL and honorable mention All-America. Hanley went 178-76 at the face-off X while contributing 27 goals and 7 assists.  Defenseman John Whiting scooped up 49 ground balls and pitched in 2 goals and 2 assists.

Senior Goalie Alex Haigh and Senior Defenseman Matthias Schmitz were also named honorable-mention all WCLL.

After leading Stanford back into the Top 25 for much of the season and finishing with a 9-4 record, Cardinal coach Paul Jepsen was named the WCLL Coach of the Year.

2019 WCLL Division II All-Conference Teams

First Team
A – Keaton Collier, Santa Clara
A – Jake Pistotnik, California
A – Brendan Cook, California
M – Matt Klein, Stanford
M – Sam Galaif, Cal Poly
M – Matt Dixon, California
SSDM – Rusty McDonough, California
FOS – Ryan Brown, Cal Poly
LSM – Jack Gillespie, California
D – Jack Tunney, Cal Poly
D – Finnian Meagher, California
D – Nate DeGroat, California
G – Peter Brydon, UC Santa Barbara

Second Team
A – A.J. Guralas, Cal Poly
A – Jake Lombardo, California
A – Doug Gosselin, Cal Poly
M – Mitch Stickney, Cal Poly
M – Hayden Dall, Sonoma State
M – Brian Buckley, Santa Clara
SSDM – Reed Zabel, UC Santa Barbara
FOS – Brian Hanley, Stanford
LSM – Ryan Buchanan, Santa Clara
D – Lou Sugo, Cal Poly
D – John Whiting, Stanford
D – Ben Jennings, UC Santa Barbara
G – Nick Beattie, California

Honorable Mention
A – Angelo Lagomarsino, Sonoma State
A – Garrett Teagarden, Dominican
A – Keenan Christoff, Nevada
M – Evan Hunter, Cal Poly
M – Harrison Rae, Dominican
M – Joey Piombo, Sonoma State
SSDM – Hayden Thayer, Cal Poly
FOS – Kitt Stoddard, California
LSM – Erik Garcia, Dominican
D – Griff Hawblitzel, Cal Poly
D – Matt Schmitz, Stanford
D – Kyle Jacobs, Santa Clara
G – Alex Haigh, Stanford

Offensive Player of the Year: Brendan Cook, California
Defensive Player of the Year: Jack Tunney, Cal Poly
Coach of the Year: Paul Jepsen, Stanford